LEDfantastic

Ultra low-power lighting solutions

Light Night

Friday night is Light Night in Leeds, and I can’t wait.

 
Light night is an annual event that welcomes the winter with an evening of lights, laser displays, projections, theatre, and all sorts of other arty entertainment.

Thanks to Mark Winterbourne for the photo

I’m looking forward to the sights, to wrapping up warm, to spending time with loved ones. But most of all, I’m looking forward to inspiration. Maybe you can tell from the lack of lights on this blog recently, but after the excitement of the Octolight and the light box light, things went kind of quiet. I have some ideas that I’m making into plans, and there’s certainly big things in the pipeline (next week we’re going to be lighting up a gyroscope. Keep yer eye out for pretty pictures!), but I haven’t been so fired up about those things.

 
All this to say that I’m looking forward to being excited again. I’m looking forward to watching the hours slip away as I solder, insulate, and test. I’m looking forward to being so excited about a light that I eat the quickest food possible. I’m looking forward to the bubble of joy that rises as the power supply is connected for the first time, and suddenly everything just works.

I think there’s some exciting things in store for LEDfantastic.

4 comments on “Light Night

  1. Hannah (BitterSweet)
    October 3, 2012

    That is one incredible photo. I’m terrible at night photography, so I really respect anyone with the skills to get a proper exposure. I love the way that the street lights sparkle!

    • LEDfantastic
      October 3, 2012

      I thought so too – the street lights are my favourite part of the photo I think. I can’t wait to take my camera out later this week, although I doubt my photos will be as good as this ‘un!

      • Dave
        October 16, 2012

        The light sparkles due to a ‘starlight’ filter – in the olden days this would be screwed on top of the lens. Maybe nowadays its all down to photoshop?

  2. Pingback: For things to come « LEDfantastic

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 3, 2012 by in Events, Ideas, LEDs and tagged , , , , , , .

LEDfantastic on Twitter

