LEDfantastic

Ultra low-power lighting solutions

A lesson in appreciation, or, No to quiet misery

Sometimes, things don’t work out quite as you planned. If you’re lucky, or optimistic, you might find a new way to appreciate it.
This happens to me regularly with baking; a cake won’t rise, but it’ll have a tasty-if-unexpected biscuity crunch. I might sit down to write out some anxiety or another, and, upon reading it back the next day, find not profound prose but an amusing account of angst. And it happened to me today, as I put the finishing touches on that embroidery light.

With the embroidery stretched over the frame, it looked pretty ok. But when I wired the lights into the plug and switched it on, it looked…weird. The lights overpowered the embroidery. There was none of the pretty, soft light I was hoping for. There was functional, reading-at-night light (which is, after all, the purpose). But the recipient is into pretty.

I stared at the light in slight disbelief, wondering if I could will it into submission. (There’s still a little part of me that wants to be Matilda.) And then it occurred to me: It’s dual-purpose. In the daytime, it’s (pretty-ish?) embroidery. When the sun sets, it transforms into a handy light. It doesn’t need to do both at the same time. It can be one, or the other! Pretty, or functional!

(I’m not sure I can bring myself to post the only other photo I have of this light, which is even worse than the light itself. I’ll be getting photos of this one in it’s new home when the recipient receives it, and will be sure to post more photos then!)

In other news, that light bulb light is up on Etsy! Order away. Also, the Newcastle Nerd Punx are collecting submissions for their annual Wor diary. It’s really awesome. Last year, I spent many a long hour collating the 2012 edition for Footprint (the people who printed the 2012 Wor Diary), and it was beautiful. I was lusting after it the whole time. Now you can get in on the 2013 edition!

2 comments on “A lesson in appreciation, or, No to quiet misery

  1. katetToch
    September 14, 2012

    Yes, there’s a crack in everything, but that’s how the light gets in and allows us the creativity to change and develop!

  2. Pingback: A lesson in problem solving, or, No to misery « LEDfantastic

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 14, 2012 by in Experiments, LEDs, Projects and tagged , , , , , .

LEDfantastic on Twitter

