LEDfantastic

Ultra low-power lighting solutions

Zine, anyone?

Remember that post on zines I did a while back? I’ve been thinking about it. The end of September has snuck up on me, and it’s just occured to me that Leeds Zine Fair is in little over a month. I reckon the zine fair would be a perfect place to launch the zine – I hear there’s even going to a table for occasional zinesters to hawk their zine(s).

Thanks to hellojenuine. on Flickr for the photo

So, I have a deadline, and I have a (very vague) idea, and I have snatches of time, here & there. All that’s missing is a plan. This seems particularly strange to me, given the number of pieces of paper I have headed “Zine” and “Zine plan” and “Ideas for zine”. I’ve written up many zine plans, all of them silently stuffed into my clear plastic folder, as if keeping them flat will somehow make a zine materialise. But it’s just not happening.

I’m finding motivation hard to come by at the moment. My knitting & my reading is the same. (I feel bad for the folks at Anna Karenina’s. Poor Oblonsky’s been tilling one field for about a month, and he was knackered when he started.)

All this to say that if anyone has any ideas for a LED-related zine, I would very much like to hear them. Write them in the comments, or send me an email. Having another person involved might be just what I need.

In other news, BitterSweet are having a giveaway! Leave a comment with your favourite sandwich combination, and you’re in with a chance of winning a exciting-looking recipe book.

Also, did I tell you about Woodkid? My friend (the Octolight recipient, in fact) introduced me to their music last week, and I can’t get enough of it. There’s grand chords and beautiful singing and all good things. Baltimore’s Fireflies is my favourite track.

And, the octopus light is finally up on Etsy! The price is subject to change, so I’ll let you know what happens with that. Until Friday…

2 comments on “Zine, anyone?

  1. Hannah (BitterSweet)
    September 26, 2012

    Thank you so much for mentioning my giveaway! I don’t think it can compete with the octopus as far as cuteness goes, but it’s pretty exciting too. :)

  2. Pingback: A quiet day « LEDfantastic

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 26, 2012 by in Events, Ideas, Projects and tagged , , , .

LEDfantastic on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers

